International Association for Bridge and Structural Engineering

For membership, conference information and news, please visit IABSE at http://www.iabse.ethz.ch 
or e-mail secretariat@iabse.ethz.ch 

The aim of the association is to exchange knowledge and to advance the practice of structural engineering 
world-wide in the service of the profession and society.

The association has the following objectives:

  • to promote cooperation and understanding among all those concerned with structural engineering
    and related fields by worldwide exchange of knowledge and experience
  • to encourage awareness and responsibility of structural engineers towards the needs of society
  • to encourage actions necessary for progress in structural engineering
  • to improve and foster cooperation and understanding between organisations having similar objectives

For this purpose, the Association may:

  • organise conferences by itself or in collaboration with other organisations
  • encourage and conduct continuing education programmes
  • identify research and development needs
  • initiate and support research activities
  • confer awards for structural engineering achievements

South African Group

S.A Chairman Prof Alan R Kemp
University of the Witwatersrand
Dept of Civil Engineering
Email : a_kemp@civil.wits.ac.za
International Permanent Comittee A.R Kemp
J Wium
A Zingoni
Collective members University of the Witwatersrand
University of Cape Town
University of Stellenbosch
University Library
Individual members
Israel Oludotun Adegoke
P.A.W. Boorsma
George J De Ridder
Bruce P Durow
Wilfried Goehring
Lieuwke Hepkema
Gert E Hoppe
Edwin James Kruger
Pieter Jordan Kruger
Kas B Lategan
Dr A.C. Liebenberg
Peter Loubser
Pieter Louw
William Martin
David Middleton
Andries P C Oosthuisen
Alan Ridge
Peter Squires
Chris Thompson
Charl P J van der Merwe
Michael A Vasarhelyi
Ananda Suresh Venayagamoorthy
Dr Jan Wium
Gerrie T Zaaiman
Prof Alphose Zingoni